

CONVOCATION CEREMONY

Celebrating the 2021 Spring & Summer graduates of the Odum School of Ecology



Odum School of Ecology UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA Ecology Convocation

ecology.uga.edu/spring-convocation-2021 May 14, 2021

EVENT PROGRAM

Schedule of Events

CLASS OF 2021

Graduate Students

ZACHARY JAMES ARNOLD

Master of Science in Conservation Ecology & Sustainable Development Advisor: Richard Hall Thesis: Exploring the impacts of landfills on bird communities: an opportunity for grassland bird conservation

THERESA ELAINE HUDSON

Master of Science in Conservation Ecology & Sustainable Development

Advisor: Catherine Pringle

Thesis: Changes in algal community composition in response to drought and Hurricanes Irma/Maria in a montane tropical stream in Puerto Rico; A long-term perspective (2013-2018)

GREGORY RUSSELL JACOBS

Doctor of Philosophy in Ecology Advisors: Seth Wenger and Craig Osenberg Dissertation: Population-level consequences of environmental variation for migratory fishes

CODY SCOTT PROUTY *Master of Science in Ecology* **Advisor**: Sonia Altizer **Thesis**: Effects of Neonicotinoids on larval and adult monarch butterflies

CLAIRE STEWART TEITELBAUM

Doctor of Philosophy in Ecology

Advisors: Richard Hall and Sonia Altizer Dissertation: Nomadic animal movement and infectious disease in changing landscapes

Welcome and Remarks

JOHN L. GITTLEMAN Dean and University of Georgia Foundation Professor in Ecology

Convocation Address

LAURIE FOWLER Senior Public Service Associate *Emerita*

Senior i done service rissoende Emerna

Presentation of the Graduates

JOHN M. DRAKE

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Distinguished Research Professor Director, Center for the Ecology of Infectious Diseases

CLASS OF 2021 Bachelor of Arts in Ecology

Cydney Jean Abel Minor in Spanish

Kaylyn Irene Barnes summa cum laude

Calvin Seth Carey

Juliet Guinevere Eden Minor in Geography Certificate in Sustainability

Amanda Sarah Howard

Bachelor of Science in Environmental Sciences, Environmental Economics and Management Minor in Environmental Law Certificate in Sustainability *magna cum laude* with Honors

Kathryn Elizabeth King Certificate in Sustainability cum laude

Lucas Garrett Lambert

Samuel Gerardo Lopez

Karis Ellen Mahaffey magna cum laude **Jenna Marie McLoughlin** Certificate in Environmental Education

Ansley Elizabeth Nash Bachelor of Arts in International Affairs

Sarah Grace Petrea

Chancey Danielle Phillips

Mackenzie Taylor Ressel

Sarah Grace Sellars Minor in Studio Art

Lauren Elizabeth Towe Certificate in Sustainability cum laude

Matthew Alan Whiting Certificate in Sustainability

Destiny Eden Willard

Irene Elizabeth Wright Minor in Anthropology

CLASS OF 2021

Bachelor of Science in Ecology

Caroline Grace Aikins magna cum laude

Jared Robert Bennett

Amaad Ameer Blades Minor in Plant Biology

Katherine Fredrica Christie Bachelor of Science in Genetics summa cum laude with Highest Honors

William Garrett Churchwell magna cum laude

Emma Bay Dickinson Minor in Music; Minor in Studio Art *cum laude* with Honors

Miriam Raisa Edelkind-Vealey Minor in Biology cum laude

Brendan Avery Everling

Maya Laurette Ferguson Minor in Anthropology

Thomas Christian Fitzpatrick

Nathaniel Thomas Haulk Minor in Public Health; Minor in Entomology summa cum laude

Presley Erin James First Honor Graduate and *summa cum laude*

Elizabeth Ann Jurado Minor in Political Science *cum laude* Lauren Faith Keeler Certificate in Geographic Information Science magna cum laude

Culzean Bailey Kennedy Bachelor of Science in Biology summa cum laude with Highest Honors

Hannah Zoe Maddux

Taylor Michelle MizelleBachelor of Science in Biology

Somerlin Chase Nixon Bachelor of Science in Biology with Marine Biology Area of Emphasis summa cum laude

Ella Jennifer Settle Minor in Biology; Minor in Studio Art

Lyndon Emile Sullivan-Brugger Bachelor of Science in Biology Minor in Classical Culture magna cum laude

Benjamin Jackson Thomas

Kerstin Glenn Thulé Minor in Entomology Certificate in International Agriculture summa cum laude

Isabel Kathryn Wargowsky magna cum laude

Jacob Tyler Warren

Brett Avery Williamson cum laude

Victoria Zhanice Wooten