| Accessibility Statement

Ecology undergraduates Pierson and Stratmann inducted into Blue Key Honor Society

Apr. 12, 2011

Writer: Beth Gavrilles, bethgav@uga.edu

Contact: Janet Lance, jholcomb@uga.edu

Two students from the University of Georgia Odum School of Ecology were inducted into the Georgia chapter of the national Blue Key Honor Society on April 10, 2011. Todd Pierson, from Zionsville, Indiana, and Theresa Stratmann, from Irmo, South Carolina, were among 61 UGA students initiated into Blue Key in 2011.

The Blue Key Honor Society is a national organization founded in 1924; the Georgia chapter was established in 1926. Considered one of the most prestigious distinctions at UGA, membership in Blue Key is open to students “of outstanding character and ability who have achieved distinction for scholarship and recognition for service and leadership,” according to the Georgia chapter’s web site.

Pierson is a 2011 recipient of the Morris K. Udall and Stewart L. Udall Foundation Scholarship. He is an Honors student and a UGA Foundation Fellow. He presented a paper, “Estimating detection rates and determining site occupancy of Urspelerpes brucei (the patch-nosed salamander)” at the UGA Honors Program’s 2010 CURO Symposium and a poster on the same topic at the 2011 Ecology Graduate Student Symposium.

Stratmann is a One UGA Scholar. She works in the Drake lab in Ecology, and collaborated on two posters presented at the 2011 Ecology Graduate Student Symposium. She presented a paper, "Changing environments: effect on extinction time and distribution" at the UGA Honors Program’s 2011 CURO Symposium.

Other recent Ecology Blue Key inductees include Sheena Zhang in 2010; Andrew Durso, BS ’09, in 2009; and Dale Broder, BS ’08, and Christina Faust, BS/MS ’09, in 2008.

Twitter Share Icon